Ooma/Vonage Porting Woes, Recommendations

Hello All-

I exhausted these forums looking for similar situations. I’ve called Ooma repeatedly this week, and have terrible luck with scripted responses from support. In short, I had a Vonage number ported. My success email from Ooma came Monday, however it was far from complete, and is still not. Outgoing calls did register my ported number. Incoming calls still went through Vonage. Understood this as normal until Vonage cancellation.

Vonage canceled my account yesterday. Some 24 hours and several successful reboots of the Telo later, all incoming calls to my ported number receive a disconnected, slow busy signal, then disconnect. I am calling the ported number via my cell.

I have a second office line with Ooma, it is working fine. I’m an software engineer, and consider myself fairly capable in knowing this is not a problem with my Telo or network set-up. It would seem my number hasn’t been picked up by the Ooma system for incoming calls.

I’m beyond frustrated. Could someone please provide recommendations on how to proceed? Where is my battle? With Ooma, Vonage, both?

When porting completes, the incoming routing should happen correctly; don’t need to cancel Vonage account although usually cancellation should happen automatically (if account has no more phone #s).

Your described situation sounds like Ooma (Ooma’s carrier) did not “take” the number properly (did not broadcast new routing data to the world). I would email loa@ooma.com to have them correct (Ooma’s porting dept).

Thank you. That was the most logical answer I’ve received in a week.

I’ve done as you’ve suggested, and am hopeful for resolution soon.